Our Board

Our Board shapes and steers the work we do, and operates with the fundamental goal of enhancing the Junction’s commercial district for both the business and residential communities. They act through a desire to improve the quality of the area and make the Junction one of Brooklyn’s prime destinations to live, work and play.

Board of Directors

Board Chairman, Kevin Johnson

Crystal Group

A passionate entrepreneur and philanthropist, Kevin Johnson began his professional path graduating Magna Cum Laude from Clark, Atlanta University with a degree in Accounting. He worked with a number of powerhouse firms, including Price Waterhouse and Arthur Anderson LLP. The business experience Kevin garnered at these prestigious firms led to him becoming an Asset Manager at a real estate firm managing over 80 buildings in NYC and San Francisco, California. Kevin then established CUT Entertainment, where he managed and executive produced artists including one who was signed to Virgin Records.

Kevin is committed to utilizing his diverse entrepreneurial skills to expand the family business. He operates, manages and co-owns Crystal Manor Catering Hall and JHCS Inc., a full service nursing agency. Kevin also manages the family real estate portfolio; he secured a joint venture $57 million development deal to build 123 units of affordable housing in Flatbush, Brooklyn. The project will be completed in April 2018.

Kevin’s is also involved in his community. He is the chairman of the Museum of Contemporary Africa Diasporan Arts (MoCADA); and served as a board member of the Ifetayo Cultural Arts Facility and the Flatbush YMCA.

Class A: Property Owners

Kevin Johnson, Chairman: Crystal Manor

Hyacinth Simms, Treasurer: Simms Tax Services  

Steven Schechter, Secretary: Brooklyn College  

Horace Camillieri: Camillieri Color Printing & Digital Copy Center  

Victoria Stennett: Victoria Stennett Realty  

Sanford Goldhaber

Class B: Commercial Tenants

Jackson Rockingster, Vice Chair: HABNET Chamber of Commerce

Mark Sadek: Astoria Bank

Class C: Residential

Brian Cunningham

Class D: Public Members of the City of New York

Hon. William DeBlasio: Mayor, City of New York

Zach Owens: Representing Hon. Gregg Bishop, Commissioner NYC SBS

Ernest Skinner: Representing Hon. Jumaane E. Williams, NYC Council 45th District

Nickolas Perry: Representing Hon. Scott Stringer, NYC Comptroller

Malcolm McDaniel: Representing Hon. Eric Adams Brooklyn Borough President

Class E: Non-voting

Alvin M. Berk, Chairman: Community Board 14

Shawn Campbell, District Manager: Community Board 14  

Barbara Sheeran, Member: Community Board 14

Lisa Derrick: Representing Hon. Rodneyse Bichotte, Assembly Member, District 42  

TBD: Representing State Senator Kevin Parker, District 21

Meishay Gattis, Executive Director: Flatbush YMCA

Learn More about the Flatbush Nostrand Junction

Read BID Research and Reports